Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-03-2007, 02:58 PM   #1
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New maya noob

I am trying to teach myself maya and have bought the book Introducing maya 8: 3d for beginners. and allready i have some problems wich i think might be because I have 8.5.

1. It tells me to click on blah-blah-sphere and it'll appear at the origin, the thing is my version asks me to clik and drag, any-one know how to change this?

2. It says to hit R to bring up the scale maipulater all it does is bring up the axis arrows for scale and the central sqaure to scale up everything at once. How do i make it to bring up the dialogue box for scaling?


cheers.


ps, i'm not a complete 3d noob, we used vectorworks in school and I was teaching the teachers new techniques at times.
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 09:56 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

The answer to question 1 is to turn off interactive creation which you can find near the bottom of the create menu when creating polygons or nurbs

ie create/ Polygon Primatives or Create / nurbs Primatives.

The primative will then appear at the origin with a scale of 1.


I am not exactly sure what you mean by question 2 but if you turn on your channel box by going to Display/UI Elements and checkmarking Channel box/ layer Editor, after you select an object and hit the R key to bring up your scale manipulator you can add the values you want in the channel box manually or watch the scale values while scaling with the manipulator.

hope this helps regards J.S.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:43 PM   #3
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its the way its worded sounded like you can press are with the "attribute editor" open and that'll change that box into the manipulater, which it doesnt for me. grr allready pissed off with this book! and stuck on the easiest thing possible, if it was vectorworks i would have done this in 5mins :headbang:
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.