Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-03-2007, 01:30 PM   #1
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Introducing Maya 8

any-one use the 3D for Beginners book? Is it me or is it really abd for complete beginners?
For example it doesn't tell you waht setting you should be on, i had to go through them all to find that i should be in "polygons".
Also a big thing so far the short-cut keys dont work "r" does not bring up the scale menu for me, ti only brings up the scaling arrows. Also it says to change "blah" in option box after performing a certain task, but it doesnt tell you that you need to manually change the option to box to find the setting of blah to correspond with what you have just done. its really really annoying, maybe i should just not scan over it :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
or am I doin something wrong or should a setting be changed etc? Iam using maya 8.5
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:34 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I was a little po'd when I first started using 8, cause everything was moved, which I don't think was necessary. Just explore the menus and you'll find everything you need and more.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:46 PM   #3
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

anybody know where the scale changer is after you "face" something after using the insert edge loop tool? i can onlu manualy adjust it, so i can either change all individually or all of them togeather but i onyl need to change x and y, not z.

hope that babling makes sense!
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 02:17 PM   #4
roco5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i just downloaded a free video to see if that was any better and i dont know if its one of the "improvements" but my object info box is totally different and far more complex, would it help if i post a screen pic of it?
roco5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.