Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-03-2007, 04:07 PM   #1
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Question How do I get the total poly count?

Hey guys,

Question again! How do I figure out the total polys of a scene? I went to Display>HUD>Poly Count, but which one is the total poly count of the scene?

Do I add some of the things together or is the faces the one IÕm looking for?

HereÕs a pic:
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:41 PM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

yeah, its faces
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:45 PM   #3
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Faces indeed.. but where in IL do you live? lol
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:21 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

Originally posted by starjsjswars
Faces indeed.. but where in IL do you live? lol
Thanks, guys! :attn:

IÕm currently in Oswego, but moving to Plano soon. You live anywhere near?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 01:35 AM   #5
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

actually i was wondering that too. Is it faces of what you just see in your persp camera or really faces of your whole actual scene.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 02:00 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think its the whole scene for the numbers on thgge left, the ones on the right are the numbers for the selected.

The Help files will probably tell you in detail.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:16 AM   #7
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: How do I get the total poly count?

Originally posted by Jr.Who
I went to Display>HUD>Poly Count, but which one is the total poly count of the scene?
The left-most number is the count of polys/verts/uvs/tris in your viewing area...move your camera around and you'll see what I mean, as those numbers will change.

For example, just create a basic poly cube, and the number of faces should read "6." Move/Pan/Rotate your camera away from the cube, and that number should change to "0."

The middle number is how many polys/verts/uvs/tris are contained in your current selection; IE, the whole object.

The right-most number is how many of something you have selected out of how many there are in an object.

For example (again, lol), make a poly cube; the left-most faces and verts should be 6 and 8, respectively. Now go to component selection mode, and just grab 2 vertices (ONLY 2!). The verts should read, from left to right: 8 8 2 (which means 8 in the scene being viewed, 8 vertices that make up the object you have selected, and 2 of which are specifically selected).

I hope that made sense...:headbang:

EDIT:

Therefore (getting back to your question), you can't technically have a complete count of EVERYTHING in your scene if it's not showing up in your camera's viewing area. You would have to zoom waaaaay out to get a complete count.

I thought you would be able to just select everything, and get a count by looking at the middle numbers, but unfortunately, that backfired when I tried an experiment; I made a bunch of cubes, 'till I had 960 faces, and when I zoomed in to the point that some of them were no longer in the viewing area (the left-number decreased, as expected). However, when I selected everything, the middle numbers matched the left numbers; it only shows the count of everything you have selected, AND is in your current viewing space.

Annoying -.-
__________________

Last edited by severinianthony : 05-03-2007 at 09:22 AM.
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:52 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

LOL, well that's cleared that up!

I never knew that, just thought it showed to total poly count, then again I never really use it as the vast majority of my projects dont have a poly budget.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 12:39 PM   #9
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

about an 1 and a half away.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 04:14 PM   #10
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
I never knew that, just thought it showed to total poly count, then again I never really use it as the vast majority of my projects dont have a poly budget.
True...sometimes worrying about the poly count is rather irrelevant if you're working on something both small and large.

If it's small, no need to worry; it's not serious.

If it's large, no point in turning on the poly count, as you'll won't get the actual count easily :p
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.