Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-03-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default HDRI render question

hi,

I've got a scene set up with an hdri dome. I've checked the emit light box under the image based lighting tab, so my hdr image is my lightsource. The scene is not very eavy poly wise, but there are a lo of high res textures. About ten or twelve 2048x2048 tga's at 24bit. Also the hdr file is quite heavy, about 18meg.
I am rendering in MR and Final gather. I left all of it at the standard settings except the min and max radius which I adjusted according to my scene.
The rendering times I have are a bit too high, it's about 20 min per frame in 1280x720. As I will have to render about 1000 frames you can probably see my problem. I was wondering if the texture resolution has a big impact on render time, same with the hdr image?
Also is it possible that maya writes a cache file?

thanks
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:34 PM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

For the amount of texture info you are using at those res, then 20 mins is more that acceptable.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:50 PM   #3
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok, thanks

that means, if I reduce my texture size to say 1024 it would cut render time. Would it also make a difference using jpg's instead of tga's?
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 08:04 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I dont think you will notice much of a difference between tga and jpg. its the content of the image. Yes if you drop to 1024 then times will drop
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 03:51 AM   #5
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thanks so much:attn:
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:01 AM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

try lowering your samples until you get something that isn't acceptable for what you want. Then start to raise the samples until you get to where you want to be (a nice balance between quality and speed). That way you don't have to resize all your maps down (which will give you blurry textures etc)


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
farbtopf
Subscriber
 
farbtopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thanks for all your help guys,

@alan
my max sample level is 1 and the min -1. I don't even now wether this is high or low. (sorry for my incompetence, but I am just figuring out that rendering is a science on it's own)


I've achieved a mildly satisfying render time. Mainly by taking most of my textures down to 1048 or 512. I don't plan any extreme closeups anyway. And not using final gather but global illumination instead. It renders nearly twice as fast with acceptable results.
The image below was rendered in 12mins, still a bit too long, but I will replace the textures of the background buildings with 128's. And play with alan's suggestion.

cheers
Attached Thumbnails
 
farbtopf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.