Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-03-2007, 02:04 AM   #1
inspector lee
Inspector Lee
 
inspector lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Attenuated shadows with software render?

Is there a way to get nice attenuated shadows using only the maya software render (rather than mental ray)?
inspector lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 03:00 AM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

attenuated? yes,

in the light, go down to the shadow>raytracing tab and there should be one of 2 options. light radius or light angle. just set those as high as you want
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:27 AM   #3
inspector lee
Inspector Lee
 
inspector lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I meant to say was without using Ray tracing (Maya software render only)
I've heard that you can hook up a dmap shadow and then tint the shadow by distance, but I'm not sure how to do that (sounds like something that would require a decent knowledge of mel scripting- which I don't have unfortunatly)
inspector lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:30 AM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

hmm, thats the filter size setting i think.....

anyway, why use Dmap shadows and not raytracing?
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:41 AM   #5
inspector lee
Inspector Lee
 
inspector lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just thought it would render faster. The scene has a lot of lights and geometry in it, and I'm already breaking it into several passes.
inspector lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.