Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-03-2007, 05:41 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Part of my model goes transparent when I assign a texture?

Hi everyone hopefully someone can solve my problem as I have not come up with a solution yet (obviously).

I have made a wine rack for a project I am currently undergoing. I have a wood texture I want to desingate to the wine rack. When I assign a lambert texture to a model everything is fine. When I go to get the picture (go to file..) however the top of the wine rack turns transparent?

I have tried containing all UV's to the picutre (in the UV texture editor) and tred deleting all the history but neither of these have worked.

If anyone could give me an explanation to why this happens I would be v grateful


christophergrigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 05:45 PM   #2
Senior Software Developer
publicFunction's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts

First thing to check is that all the normal are pointing in the correct direction.
Next remap your UV's, but sounds lkike it could be a UV issue.
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:28 PM   #3
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
tweetytunes's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,418
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts

is this happen before or after you select the wood file.

If its after then the wood file may have an alpha channel on it which maya connects to the transparency part of the shader.

which can be removed in the hypershade.

If its before sorry cant help.

good luck
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:41 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thanks for the swift replies,

I cleaned up the model then remapped the UV's using cylindrical mapping and it worked. Guess the UV's on the top weren't getting any of the texture!

Thanks again

christophergrigg is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 09:28 AM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.