Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-03-2007, 12:22 PM   #1
Dobrasz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cartoon Dog tutorial using a Mac

Hey guys…

I’m having troubles with the Cartoon dog tutorial. When I attach the dog image to the plan I lose the fluid movement in perspective view. Moving the plan with the dog image becomes very jagged and slow… serious pain in the… I’m guessing this is because of my computer… I have a new MacBook Pro, version 7 Maya… Has anyone else got the same problem?

Anyway, I thought of a way to get around this problem but I’m not entirely sure whether it’s possible. The idea is to trace the dog image onto the plan using a simple drawing/pencil tool. After tracing the dog image I can remove it leaving only the trace that was pencil in?

Has anyone done this, can this be done and what tools can I use?

Cheers,
Dobrasz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2007, 05:30 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Sounds like a graphics card issure, you might be best off installing the latest drivers for it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2007, 05:44 AM   #3
Dobrasz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

After a couple of hours… I finally got it!!!

All I did was go to material attribute menu, select the material which contains the image plan (not the image itself), then go down the drop down menu until your find “Hardware Texturing”, change the Texture resolution from “default” to whatever setting works best. I have it set on highest and it works great!

Hope this helps other Mac Maya users...
Dobrasz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.