Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2007, 06:59 PM   #1
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default Maya 8.5 + Vista

Ok Folks,

After much tooing and frowing, i decided to give Vista a little go. I have to say I like the UI and it seems to be a bells and whistles OS. There is security added in that seems good at first, but becomes more annoying as time goes on.

I have found 2 big issues with Maya and Vista:

1. It seems to have issues when overwriting a ma file and simply states maya has halted and closes it down
2. Mental Ray does not work. This is a known issue and Autodesk have stated no version of Maya is currently supported on Vista.

I am now going back to either 2000 or XP (prob XP tbh)

BB and NN all.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 07:04 PM   #2
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

If I ever get vista I plan to buy it and Maya 9.0 when it comes out along with my new computer i sould be getting in the fall... autodesk should have it all cool by then.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 09:20 PM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

hmmm, i don't have those issues with it on vista....
the only errors i know of for me is caused by ram... i dont have much on my new computer. But, vista itself hasnt been a problem with maya
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 09:27 PM   #4
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Methinks its just ransids comp.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 01:52 AM   #5
surferbro66
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Vista

this has been chewed through already mates see the thread Vista or not to Vista started by yours truely.

:attn:
surferbro66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 03:46 AM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Nothing wrong with my PC I am afraid. It is only Maya 8.5 that has the issue. I was running Vista Ultimate, and it was only the two issues i found.

The MR one is talked about by Autodesk, and they have stated MR is not supported by Vista at all and dont plan too. The ma file problem is not one for the mb files.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 09:37 AM   #7
davidorff07
Registered User
 
davidorff07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am running Vista Ultimate and have no problems with Maya - Mental Ray is working fine, however the only slight annoyance is that some processes take a little longer than when my machine was running xp.
davidorff07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2007, 03:28 PM   #8
modemmack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

gonna let those early adopter take their lumps, before I get Vista. That and I'm not going to clear 3 grand in hardware/software this year.
modemmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.