Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-03-2007, 07:13 PM   #1
the_art_of_maya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default pc requirements

hey i need to know how to maximize my performance when in the editor, i have 1.5 gig of ram and i want to know how to configure so that maya would use a lot of it, because when a lot of polygons are present the viewing slows down, also tell me how to maximize my rendering performance. i have a radeon x1300
the_art_of_maya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 01:48 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

What editor are you in????

you might weant to look at Autodesks qualification charts, if you have a lot of polys and the PC's slowing down then it might be your graphics card.

What processor have you got?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 04:17 PM   #3
the_art_of_maya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have 2 processors both 3 ghz, by editor i mean the perspective window
the_art_of_maya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 06:53 PM   #4
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its normal to have slowdowns when you have a lot of polygons being viewed at the same time. The question is, how many polygons are on screen when you get the slow downs?

About your cpu specs, can you be a bit more specific?
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 07:40 PM   #5
the_art_of_maya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i make a tree with the paint effect and convert it to polygons resulting in about maximum 20,000 polygons, and so when i press play to see the wind animation the tree has it does not go smoothly it instead goes slowly, very slowly. i have 1.5 gigabytes of ram, 2 processors both 3 GHZ, graphic card is radeon x1300 which is 512 ram but 128 bit. so can u tell me how to configure maya to use a lot of my RAM when viewing the perspective window.
the_art_of_maya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2007, 11:22 PM   #6
tenchidbz
Registered User
 
tenchidbz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NY State, USA
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What does this have to do with PC Requirments?

I thought this was for the requirements to run Maya, not a ram question, btw get more of it, like 2.0GB or more!
tenchidbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2007, 01:13 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You might be having the slowdown problems as the Radion card is not quailfied to run maya, in My experiance using a radion on other PC's it seems to have a bit of an issue showing the textures correctley.

so that might be your problem. If you can see if you can get hold of another card (say from a mate) and see if that works better.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2007, 02:12 PM   #8
wokendreams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The wind and tree are recalculated each frame when your animating. This will slow down most computers. Also with two 3ghZ proceros 1.5 of ram is probably holding your pc bac a lot
wokendreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:59 AM   #9
rapelao
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just by curiosity, whats the spec of a "nice" pc to work with!?



ps: i was thinking in buying a macbook pro, 17", the best vers, will it be any good?
rapelao is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.