Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-03-2007, 04:28 AM   #1
ronkhmps
Subscriber
 
ronkhmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default hardware render and mental ray

hello
I am wondering if it's possible to render the particle that can be rendered by hardware render (like sprite, streak and points) by mental ray...
__________________
rsh
ronkhmps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 11:33 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

why would you ever want to? MR is for raytracing you don't raytrace hardware particles do you?!

the answer is very likely no


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 04:19 PM   #3
ronkhmps
Subscriber
 
ronkhmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default hardware render problem

hello
thanks for the reply but I got into the following problem and I thought in case mentalray can render.... the problem is,
I have made the attached firework sample which should be rendered with hardware render. if I render it as a single frame it works and nothing is missing but if I batch render it (no matter in what format) nothing shows up and the screen is black... or only some of the particles show up...

what should I do?
Attached Files
File Type: mb fireworks.mb (64.8 KB, 14 views)
__________________
rsh
ronkhmps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 04:27 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

have you done a particle cache?

select the particles

solvers>>create particle disk cache

(if you want to change the particles you need to delete this and re-do it)

then try rendering. Remember you don't assign shaders etc for hardware rendering so make sure that your particles have some colour so you can see them. Have you tried different particle types? e.g. multi streak just to see them a bit clearer. Is motion blur turned on? do you have enough samples?



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 04:33 PM   #5
ronkhmps
Subscriber
 
ronkhmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default hardware render problem

hello
they do have color and as I said when I render them as single frame they show but when I do the batch render they don't however the multi streaks show up a little. the only thing I didn't do is to make a cache disk.
I will try that
__________________
rsh
ronkhmps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2007, 04:41 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

is motion blur turned on?
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.