Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-04-2007, 03:30 PM   #1
brandy_ke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Other than videomach

just curious , what are some programs that can be used to convert images to video clips other than videomach (recommended in the tutorial),

any other good programs for some post editing work , like adding of sounds , music ?
brandy_ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 06:13 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

After effects, shake, combustion, are probably the most common compositing applications.

think theres also a free compositing Application, but I cant remember the name of it.

You can also do some in Adobe premier, Avid express pro, Final cut pro, but they dont have the level of "tweekability" and blending options that the compositing apps do.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:26 PM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

isnt there a couple of free renderers?? the 'gimp' is that a renderer?? Fusion is another one (not free)
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:32 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Gimp's an image editing software (like photoshop) dont think that It can convert images to Video, athough I could be wrong.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 11:15 PM   #5
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

VideoMach really isnt a compositer, it just allows you to take an image sequence and covert to AVI etc...

Now another alternative is Quicktime Pro ($30) from Apple and will let you get these renders into the far superior (imho) mov format. Mov looks great and is very sharp and works really well I use it at home, but if you don't want to use QT and mov then I would not use it for avi. Stick with VideoMach its good and works after its evaluation period
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:14 AM   #6
brandy_ke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm thks for the advice ,

can i use video mach to create screens like credits where is mainly text

how to get the rolling text effect

pardon me for the noob question

thks
brandy_ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:19 AM   #7
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Videomach does a real basic job, but AE is the app for that kind of stuff.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 10:08 AM   #8
brandy_ke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

pardon me
but whats AE ?
brandy_ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 01:07 PM   #9
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

AE= Adobe After Effects
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 03:26 PM   #10
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

simple credits can be made in any graphics app, for example.., 'paint' on every XP has it already.., and them save the titles as a jpeg, tiff , targa.., whatever..very simple stuff and import it into your editing app (you do have one?? if not you will hav to consider that too.., AE does a lot but Im not sure i would want to edit in it.., it is possible) but Gster and R@sid are very correct.., Im only considering you want to do this cheaply and if you do not understand the acronym for after effects (AE) .., (no one was born knowing it, we all have to learn at our own pace ) them best you keep things simple for a while and save some money.., if thats not a problem though.., go for the big apps and the magic of digital will be at your finger tips
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:03 PM   #11
brandy_ke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

THanks once again
You guys are awesome !
brandy_ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:11 PM   #12
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

i would say the easiest way to do credits is to do the video in videomach then import it to windows movie maker and do title and credits there
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.