Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-04-2007, 02:20 AM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default question about attaching objects

Hello, I'm horrible at explaining exactly what I mean, and it's not just with maya, it's with anything, pictures help a lot so I'm hoping this is helpful in you answering these questions for me, I will try and word my questions and good as I can.

I would like to know how some of you would go about doing this. I'm making a propeller on a ship that I started in the challenge form but was not able to work on for a couple of weeks. Now I was wondering is it necessary for me to connect the propellers to the object I have circled?

If I do should I combine or boolean? I tried both already and undid it because it came out a mess with 3 sided geometry. Is having a few 3 sided pieces of geometry going to effect it if it were to get animated? Will the animation need the propellers and the circled object combined to work properly?

How necessary is it to combine objects if they are going to be animated? If it's going to just remain a model is it necessary to combine objects?
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:28 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

RC, you do not have to combine and connect these objects if you do not wish too, the thing to do with them is group them and name the group as one object.
It is normal practice to combine and join geometry that is part of a single whole but if you have an object made of different parts i.e your propeller with it's blades and shaft then grouping is fine and you can simply locate the group pivot to allow the whole thing to rotate as it should if it needs to be animated.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:31 AM   #3
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

thank you very much for your quick reply, I've been nervous thinking I was going to have to connect these parts if I were to animate (which I'm still not sure about). By next question, how do you group and name them? Because when I go to edit>group it only stays grouped until I unclick all the highlighted objects.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 02:41 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

ok to group the objects select them all then hit ctrl + G to group them.You will have a new group most likely called group1 if it's your first,you can double click on it either in the channel box or the outliner and rename it to whatever you wish.
The pivot point for your new group will be at the origin (0,0,) so you can either center the pivot which I believe is located at modify/center pivot which will move it to the center of the group or if you want to animate it select the move tool then hit the insert key (ins located on the 0 of the right hand number pad) and then move the pivot to the center of the shaft on the propeller so it can rotate properly and then hit insert again to complete the pivot move.If you did not delete the history on the objects before you grouped them you might want to do that to clean up any unused transform nodes,but make sure your geometry is not smoothed before deleting history because you will not be able to get back to your lowest base mesh if you delete with a smooth it will become perminent.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 03:02 AM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

just to add to jsprogg's helpful advice - a good way to select a group is to select one of the objects in the group and then hit the up arrow.

looks like a good model by the way (from what I can see of it) - make sure you keep us updated with a wip thread.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.