Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-04-2007, 05:57 AM   #1
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default image plans

I have decided to do something again, well to put here again but immediately I have a problem. The tut has the image plans imported ; from the view menu/image plans/import image plan.

well thats no problem but the tuts have the grid showing in the side, front views but my views have the images in front of the grid (cant see grid). I cant put transparency on the image because there is no shader attached to the image plan.., i know this is easy but I cant remember what to do.., any help?

cheers

as you can see ive come a long way
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 06:13 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

go to the outliner and select the camera with the image plane, then in the channel box click on the image plane1 under inputs and you should then see the input box for depth.Change the input to a larger number move the image back and smaller to move it forward.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 02:09 PM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

really?? the image is already at -12.., you mean the camera i guess.., thanks, much appreciated.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 08:38 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

to get the image behind the grid i would think you need + number, try 100 that should be ok.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 09:53 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

thanks again. as much appreciated as before if not more

Lithuania?? I have never been there but I hear there some animation gurus in that part of the world.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 10:01 PM   #6
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hmm?? nothing changed?? no matter what combination of things I tweak?? must be the wrong 'tweak.'

bummer, I really wanted to follow this tut exactly.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 11:15 PM   #7
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I'm sorry I tried it on the front view and yes you are right i couldn't get it to go behind either.
I have attached an image plane creator mel if you put this on your shelf you can click on it add the images to what views you need and click ok and it creates planes to the scale of the images with a locator to control transparency and puts them on a layer all in one go.
Attached Files
File Type: mel refplanes.mel (12.9 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by jsprogg : 16-04-2007 at 01:31 AM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2007, 12:41 PM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

how cool, thanks very much.., I started the model regardless but I am sure this will be a great tool to have

my thread is called.., 'arrrgh' on WIP
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
Guards - Original SM Gallery Image by Escelce Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:01 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.