Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-04-2007, 09:31 AM   #1
jasmyno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to run a remote pc without a monitor

Hi all,

I'm thinking of setting up a small render farm. How do you go about running a remote pc without a monitor? I figured there's an app available to do this. I would like to add a amd pc via ethernet and not have a monitor, keyboard & mouse. Any help is appreciated.

Jaz
jasmyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 12:58 PM   #2
Fallenswordsman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Don't quote me on this, but I believe that you may be able to do it via a KVM switch - not the cheapy ones, but the more professional ones may have the functionality you're looking for.
Fallenswordsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 02:49 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

you can do it even with the 'cheapy ones'... i've got a kvm switch that only requires double tapping the shift bar then pressing '1' or '2' to choose your computer. it only cost about 40 bucks, but that was about 3 years ago. you can now find KVM switches that are USB and DVI, VGA and DVI, VGA and PS/2, etc. they're all comparable, and they can go from 2 computers to 4 (without becoming expensive).

any kvm switch changes the keyboard, video (monitor), and mouse (hence kvm) between computers. some have a hub you can use, and some only work between two computers. you don't need an expensive one to do what you ask. as long as you can view (and control via keyboard and mouse) the other computer's screens, you're good to go.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 03:58 PM   #4
imagine_studios
Subscriber
 
imagine_studios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have something along the order of what NEO mentioned and it's never been an issue. It was $40 about 3 or 4 years ago, I would assume they are even cheaper now.

Jason
imagine_studios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007, 04:06 PM   #5
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Buy Dameware

or

go to LogMeIn and get a free account.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2007, 12:52 AM   #6
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you can get the initial thing set up by using a monitor, keyboard and mouse then you can simply install any of the VNC variants (OS dependant) such as UltraVNC, tightVNC or realVNC. Once its on and set up to start on boot you'll be able to connect to the box remotely whenever you need. I think all are free but some cost if you want more secure options etc.
I've used UltraVNC most recently as its free for all options. It worked a treat over a wireless connection allowing me to sit in the garden on the laptop while working remotely on my main PC

Si
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2007, 01:31 PM   #7
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

donno if this will help you, though i had something similar like this...

i had two computers though only with one screen, mouse, keyboard etc... all i did was just buy a switch(forgot what its called) connected it all up and everytime i wanted to use the other computer i would just turn the knob on the little device thingo which was sat next to my monitor and it would change computers ...
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2007, 08:23 PM   #8
onyx86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

logmein.com is the best solution imho

Free account - plus all you need is a web browser to view your desktop from anywhere in the world. I use it all the time to check renders at home while i'm at work. Plus it supports dual monitor.
onyx86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2007, 12:34 AM   #9
jasmyno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you everyone for all your help! I ended up trying UltraVNC and love it. I already have a PowerMac and just added a AMD dual core and don't have any more space for another keyboard and mouse. Keeping track of 2 of each is quite enough. I've configured the older AMD pc to launch UltraVNC on boot so the keyboard and mouse will now migrate to the new DualCore box. I'm going to add another AMD machine and configure my new dual core laptop with VNC and will use all to render.

Again, thanks for all your input!!!

Jaz
jasmyno is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.