Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2002, 04:33 AM   #1
dkouts
Registered User
 
dkouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IK binding many small objects...

Greetings - a Skeleton / Bind question...

I have modelled some pants for a character out of nurb patches, but I must be missing something when it comes to IK'ing them.

I built explicit stitches running down the seams, as I need to create an obvious stitched look, bump mapping wont cut it. Each stitch is an instance of a master stitch object, so I can edit its shape and have all the rest update, if need be.

Also, the various nurb patches and stitch models are grouped under a "Pants" Group node. This is the node Im selecting to do the bind.

Now, when I bind and deform said pants, the little stitches fly off in all directions - why do they not lock to the joints?

Ive tried deleting history, and freezing the transformations of the little stitches, but Maya tells me it cant freeze transforms because I have instanced geometry.

EG - here's before & after the bind/deform...
dkouts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 04:47 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Hard one to fingure out with out seeing the file. Try selecting all the little stich nodes in the graph editor not just the top group node when you go to bind.

If that don't work try parenting the little patches to the pants geometry instead of the joints.

And if that dont work i'll have to think about it for a bit see what I can come up with.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/

Last edited by Kurt : 10-12-2002 at 04:50 AM.
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 06:18 PM   #3
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

it depends on how you made the stitches, were they modelled? or a texture?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:13 AM   #4
dkouts
Registered User
 
dkouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The stitches are modeled, not texture/bump mapped.

They had to stand out, so I modelled one stitch model, and instance-duplicated it, placing them one by one in their path down the seam.

Just when I bend the leg, they go flying off in random directions.

???


Dan
dkouts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:24 AM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It may be due to the instancing. Does it do the same if you just copy the stitches without instancing them?
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 05:47 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I do not believe instances are what you want to use... from what I understand, the instance would be affected by the master's movements, which would throw them out of whack, especially if they don't have the same rotational pivot and so on. I think your best bet would be to use straight copies instead.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.