Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-05-2007, 04:33 AM   #1
DougFisher
Registered User
 
DougFisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default unusual polygon shading

When using polygons and I create say a 1mtr cube in default shading, the shading is regular in appearance on all 6 faces.

When I decrease the width of the polygon, say down to a standard 200mm, the 200mm edge becomes much darker than the balance of the cube.

IN a simple cube it is not too much of a problem, but i am modelling complete buildings and the result shading can be very offputting.

We have tried decreasing the hardware acceleration, which fixes the shading problem, but obviously degrades the performance of the hardware/computer and it becomes choppy, so this isnt a practical solution.

I am using an ATI Radeon 1550 series graphics card. For my computer specs, I have attached an Everest Report in text format.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Doug
Attached Files
File Type: txt everest report doug fisher.txt (3.6 KB, 20 views)
__________________
Doug Fisher
DougFisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 10:26 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You may have multiple edges overlapping causing a really dark shade on your object. You'll have to find the edges and move them from overlapping.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 05:39 AM   #3
DougFisher
Registered User
 
DougFisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for that however no overlaps just a single poly - I got further info on the problem - I take the model i create and transfer it to another computer in thje office and the problem has gone ..............so I'm guessing the graphics cards the cause.
__________________
Doug Fisher
DougFisher is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.