Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-05-2007, 09:16 AM   #1
Gvbbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mentalray render

hi, im having some problems with the dgs_material, i render it and looks ok, but when i save the file the alpha channel is all messed up, and the image is all cuted, any ideas on how to save it so it looks ok??

oh ye if i save as jpg it saves ok but i need psd or similar
Gvbbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:34 AM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

the alpha map and the DGS material dont seem to work well, it is because it counts the reflection as if there is nothing there.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 01:30 PM   #3
Gvbbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: here
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Joopson
the alpha map and the DGS material dont seem to work well, it is because it counts the reflection as if there is nothing there.
oh so theres no soultion??...damn...well tnks
Gvbbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:40 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Use the render layers option and create a pass for each option and then composite in PS to get your PSD File.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.