Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-05-2007, 04:53 AM   #1
njon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is there a MasterReset switch in maya?

I guess some settings got messed up and I am getting some artefacts.
Is there a master reset which resets all the tools to deafults?

It would take quite some time to figure out the prob and resetting various tool options manually.

Thanks.
njon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 05:23 AM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Hey njon,
I hope someone knows about a master reset switch because that would be very useful.

Just in case there isn't one, I do know that you can go into preferences and just go down the list reseting each category. However, I'm not sure if resetting all the categories resets everything.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 05:48 AM   #3
njon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks,
will check that.
There must be some script atleast for resetting all.
njon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 07:13 AM   #4
njon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, that render reset thing doesnt have any options I guess, only maya /mr renderer.

So doesnt help .
njon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 10:09 AM   #5
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I was reading my help files this evening and ended up coming across something that might be the master reset. I havn't tried it but perhaps you want to.

It says that all settings are saved in a directory called "prefs", everytime you exit out of Maya. If I read it correctly, you can rename that directory (folder I think) to something else. Then the next time you open Maya, Maya will create a new directory. I think everything will be at default settings. Then if you want to go back to your previous settings, rename the previous directory back to "prefs" (or whatever it was). Then when you open Maya, you're previouse settings are restored.

Hope this is the answer you were looking for.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 12:41 PM   #6
njon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thx Pfto,
will try that!
njon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:07 AM   #7
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

I can comfurm that everytime my setting get messed up all I do if delete the "prefs" folder under the "maya" folder in "my Documents" aswell as the maya.env (This one time thats was what was wrong) As soon as you restart maya they get replaced with new ones and its just like opening maya up for the first time. It also the file that I backup the most and just recopy over if something else goes wrong save time setting everything up agan.

good luck
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 11-05-2007 at 12:10 AM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:04 PM   #8
njon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks tweety.

Why not actually just add a button "reset everytool" in maya, would make things more user friendly.
njon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 03:08 PM   #9
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

because thats too simple
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2007, 10:41 PM   #10
spyder99945
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: northern illinois
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u can just delete the whole folder if u dont need anything
spyder99945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2007, 12:56 AM   #11
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

If you delete (or move might be safer) everything in the documents and settings>username>My documents/maya/ folder and then start maya it will regenerate everything in the folder and will reset all the preferences back to the default settings.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.