Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-12-2002, 08:58 AM   #1
ephekto
Registered User
 
ephekto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default question about particles

IPR render doesnt support particles. how can i render a group of particles in the frame that i desire. is that possible?

is it posible to convert particles to nurbs or poligons or something that can be rendered?.

i tried using harware rendering but the quality is no too good. im stuck. help please.

thanks in advance
__________________
Bryan.

.ephekto™
ephekto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:22 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: question about particles

Originally posted by ephekto
IPR render doesnt support particles. how can i render a group of particles in the frame that i desire. is that possible?

is it posible to convert particles to nurbs or poligons or something that can be rendered?.

i tried using harware rendering but the quality is no too good. im stuck. help please.

thanks in advance
1. Drag a rectangular frame in the render view and then hit render region.

2. There are couple of particle types that can be rendered with the software renderer. You could also use the particle instancer to replace the particles with some real geometry.

3. Check the hardware render attributes. You can improve the quality by enabling for example line smoothing and multi-pass rendering...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 05:41 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yes, only a couple of the particle types are capable of being rendered by the normal renderer (indicated by a s/w by the name, I believe. Stands for SoftWare). For the others, you have to use the hardware renderer and than composite them into your scene.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 08:38 PM   #4
ephekto
Registered User
 
ephekto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your help, very kind
__________________
Bryan.

.ephekto™
ephekto is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.