Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-05-2007, 11:57 AM   #1
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hardware textring problem

IU have got maya 8.5 and am following a tutorial from gnomon for an eyeball. The thing is, I am having problems with the shading part of it, as what I have to do is plug a ramp into the transparency of the cornea. This is ok, but then it tells me to go to hardware texturing and turn on transparency, so I can see wher my ramp is on the interface, but on maya 8.5 this is not an option.

Also it tells me to change the texture resolution to high quality but this is not on maya 8.5 either, so I have no way of knowing where my ramp is on the eyeball, apart from keeping doing renders.
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2007, 02:56 PM   #2
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

for the hardware textured part: press 6. thats all.

for the resolution: go to your material attributes of the specific material. there is a section called "hardware texturing". there youll find texture resolution.

good luck with the tut.

BadG3r
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 04:57 AM   #3
clopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

as stated in the actual question this option is not htere in maya 8.5, when i go to hardware texturing them options arent there, and since i cant select hardware texturing transpareny then it will not show if i press 6 or not.
__________________
www.ace-productions.co.uk
clopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 05:11 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Select the material, either in the hypershade or what ever. Then in the attribute editor scroll down to hardware shading then in there are the option's. I've just checked and the option's are there, i'm on 8.5.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2007, 08:46 AM   #5
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah me too on 8.5

the option will be greyed out if there is no texture applied.
Attached Thumbnails
 
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 12:25 PM   #6
wethepe0ple
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmmm... i'm having the same problem and still can't find a solution. the only thing i can find und hardware texturing is textured channel (which always says "None" even if the color channel has a textured set) and material alpha grain.
hardware shadingjust gives me the hardware shader slider. there is no point for texture resolution.
wethepe0ple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 11:23 PM   #7
wethepe0ple
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have no idea how it happened... but now it's possible.

thanks anyways!
wethepe0ple is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.