Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-05-2007, 01:02 AM   #1
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default subD attaching problem

Hey guys!

I tried a to mirror subDs and then attaching them. My problem is that by attaching the geometry i get little spaces between the two.
incresing the threshold just f***s up the mesh and the spaces are still there.
its not a display error cause i converted it to polys and looked at border edges.

i tried everything. from duplicating attaching.

converting into polys then combining and merging the verts. but then i get a little seam/hard edge in the middle.

any guess???
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 01:33 AM   #2
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm sorry that I can't say much about SubD's; I've never used them.

However, for the latter part of your post, if all the merging goes well-and-good when you convert to polys, the hard edge can be adjusted be selecting the edges that make up the central "seam," and going to Edit Polygons -> Normals -> Soften/Harden -> Options Box (Maya 7.0).

Smaller numbers (down to 0) make the edges more harsh, defined and obvious; larger numbers (up to 180) smooth it out and make it look more refined.

For Maya 8.0...I'm not 100% certain (I don't use it), but the option is under the polygons menu set, and there are just simply two options in one of the menus; "make hard" and "make soft," or something like that. They're straightforward in what they do.
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 01:45 AM   #3
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx for the reply but I figured it out.

mirror, attach. after that i switch to poly mode merge the vertices and everything was nice and smooth. after that i converted it into polys.

thx again.

Badger
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.