Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-05-2007, 06:47 PM   #1
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default my container terminal

Hi! This is my first project in maya: a container terminal. I've been working for some weeks now, so I would be glad if I get some feedback and a little help... I’ve been trying to deal with some issues related to instances. Oh, and excuse me if I make a lot of mistakes since I haven’t practiced english lately…

The container is a simple cube with the colour and bump channels mapped (maps created with corel). I used the cereal box tutorial in the maya help for UV mapping. I created different shaders for different shipping companies.

To create the first group of containers I duplicated as instance like 400-500 of those cubes. Rendered with mental ray and a little patience, but no problem. To fill with containers the whole terminal, I thought an option would be creating aligned groups of 500 or so containers. But after doing the second group of containers, mental ray crashes when I try to render. Moreover, some containers don’t appear in the viewport. Why?? I don’t know, maybe I messed something up in the hierarchies after duplicating “as instance” so many times… in fact I still get quite/very confused every time I happen to open the hypergraph.

I need help. How would you create so many objects? Small groups of containers referenced in the main file for layer rendering?? Or different layers in smaller groups but in the same file? Are instances reliable?
I hope somebody can give me some advice on this. By the way, is it better to save as *.ma than *.mb?

Thanks in advance!
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2007, 06:51 PM   #2
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

images...
Attached Thumbnails
 
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2007, 06:53 PM   #3
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

...
Attached Thumbnails
 
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2007, 07:12 PM   #4
Freaky-Freeky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, I have stolen this from other topics, but I think it would look better if you'd make them a bit dirtier (it's not easy being a container you know? )
__________________
...but that was when I ruled the world
Freaky-Freeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2007, 07:30 PM   #5
severinianthony
Registered User
 
severinianthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I agree with Freaky; a thin, light coating of dust, with a tad of grime in recessed areas and along the edges will break up the flat-colored-ness of the cargo containers.

Also, after looking at pictures of freight containers, yours look a little to long, in proportion to their height and width; here's some images of what I mean.

http://narrowmind.railfan.net/WPYR/f..._Container.JPG

http://www.chinamaristar.com/product...de_freight.jpg

http://www.intermodalsolutions.com/I...orage%20L2.jpg

Other than that, I think your textures look great; keep at it!
__________________
severinianthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2007, 10:32 AM   #6
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks freaky and severinianthony, I agree those containers look TOO clean, but I don’t want to get them too dirty either… There are different types and sizes of containers, I modelled a 40' standard type. Guess I will try to add mode variety in the following weeks. But right now what worries me most is the repetition issue that crashes mental ray renders. I have to find the way to duplicate them and organize the file properly… the hypergraph is a total mess.
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2007, 08:25 PM   #7
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi again, just wanted to share some renders after a lot of hours spent practicing with different illumination and tuning of textures. The problems with mental ray crashing with large files were solved using a file reference system with cleaner and lighter files.
Right now I’m trying to adjust the shadowed areas which I think look too dark. I’m using physical sun/sky and I don’t know how to light up a bit only those areas. Shadow colour doesn’t seem to affect that type of illumination… hope someone can give me some light on that.
Attached Thumbnails
 
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2007, 08:26 PM   #8
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

By the way, I'm preparing some dirt textures for the colour and diffuse channels.
Attached Thumbnails
 
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2007, 08:38 PM   #9
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The concrete texture now works quite good for up close and distant shots.
Attached Thumbnails
 
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 05:52 AM   #10
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Make them durty . It's quite good KUTGW
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 11:22 PM   #11
asta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I will finish those dirt layers soon, I'm sure it will improve the whole scene.

By the way, about the dark shadowed areas I was asking for help... Forget that. I'm just watching this renders through a different monitor and it looks so different!! This proves how important it is to have a good monitor for an appropiate color calibration.
asta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2007, 11:41 PM   #12
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Try one render with 1024 Depth map Shadows
and Filter Size 8
When i render with those stats it get me good effect
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.