Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-05-2007, 05:03 AM   #1
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default every 2 hours i get BSOD

Hey guys, every 2 hours im on the computer the computer just resets and goes to bsod(blue screen of death) ... I just reset it and it works but it just keeps on continuesly doing it.
The error i get is, "driver_irql_not_less_or_equal".

Ived researched it all over the net and still cant find a solution that works ... can anyone help me? it gets really annoying when your working on things then it just happens!

thanks, Marlon J
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 05:53 AM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hey there Marlon,

Blue Screen Of Death is always a bit scary. I googled the words you've put in quotes and it came up with numerous sites regarding the problem.

THIS is a link to the microsoft support sollution, I hope it works.

Take it easy,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 06:51 AM   #3
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hey Mat,

Thanks for the quick response ... Yeah ived seen this site before and only tried the second solution(HCL) which the link didnt work for me ... didnt really try the first one, didnt get what it ment. What does it mean by third party filter drivers and such as backup programs? dont really get what they mean there

Marlon J
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 07:01 AM   #4
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I found this...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/816071

Under the 'More Information' heading it it explains how to disable third party filter drivers, as far as identifying them goes though I have no idea, sorry.

Good luck,

Mat
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 07:07 AM   #5
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

thanks for the link, looking at it now ... hopefully i will get this all sorted out :p

cheers, marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 08:00 AM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

The IRQ error in BSOD usually means that there is either a driver error or a hardware issue. It usually means that the driver or hardware has tried to share an IRQ that its not meant to and windows protects itself by crashing and debugging (a BSOD).

I suggest going into Safe Mode and looking at the Event Viewer (eventvwr) to see if the issue is logged there. Every BSOD should enter a note in the system log stating that there was an unexpected shutdown and why.

Also whilst in Safe Mode deinstall items like you sound card, video card and deinstall any software. Then reboot and allow the hardware to be picked back up again by Plug and Prey. Lastly get the latest drivers for the hardware and install it.

After that, it still happens, then I suggest you have a dodgy piece of hardware...

But before the expenditure of getting the HW replaced, go to windows updates and download all the updates until there are none left, and if the issue still exists, then rebuild your PC.

Hope this helps...
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)

Last edited by R@nSiD : 30-05-2007 at 01:34 PM.
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2007, 09:19 PM   #7
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I used to get this all the time, then I noticed my computer was only reading half of my 1gig that I had, so I shut down opened up the computer and saw that my ram stick wasn't in place all the way. I fixed that and I haven't seen that screen since then. I'm not saying it's definately your ram but it was my solution and your problem could be kind of similar.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2007, 05:41 AM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by R@nSiD
Plug and Prey.
LOL, That made me laugh!

Hoppe you manage to get it going marlon, hey your suing a mac arnt you? Not too sure if that would make a difference, but you might be able to repair it by installing windows again with repair?

Or (I dont know if windows under bootcamp would have it) could you not go to a system restore point, before the problem started?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 10:23 PM   #9
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

@ Chris - Yeah in most of the posts i read, majority of them had hardware problems like rams etc :S ived looked into event view and you can see every 2 hours a log has happen and its the same thing over and over again ... yeah ived got latest drivers for both windows and my hardware installed.

@ Rhetoric camel - Yeah, after this post im going to try take out 1 of my rams stick and see if it happens, if it still happends ill change it with my other one and keep on doing that for some things in my computer such as harddrive. Trial and error i say ... :p

@ Steve - Thanks man, yeah i hope also to i get it working ... its really bugging me atm. Nah not running the mac(at brothers house). Ived though about doing a repair though i dont really like doing them since they change some directory file names etc even though it might fix the problem...

hmm what shall i do people?

marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 01:36 AM   #10
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Launch into safe mode (press F8 at the start) and leave it to see if it crashes again.

If it does then its the OS, so rebuild and OS from scratch.
If not then its Hardware, so deinstall all the HW and go back in and let it rediscover the devices and see what happens
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 01:43 AM   #11
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

yeah i will try that after i get this thing done.

Im testing to see if any of my 2 ram sticks are crook ...
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 03:56 AM   #12
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

HUESTON ... WE MAY HAVE FIXED THIS PROBLEM!

took out ram-sticks #2 and it hasnt switched off for 4 hours! :attn:

sucks though, if i render it takes ages (512mb) :headbang:

Last edited by marlonjohn : 02-06-2007 at 04:00 AM.
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum will be offline for a couple of hours on 12-07-2010 David Site News & Announcements 2 07-12-2010 03:57 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.