Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-06-2007, 03:05 AM   #1
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Booleans. dissapeared.

Hi everyone i thought i had already posted a thread about this but i cant see so i huess ill do another one.
Im not attually at my desktop at the mo so i wont be to detailed. Im making the dog and im on video 3 about 6 mins in. Iv converted my Nurbs head and neck into polygons. this worked fine then i used the booleans tool to union the 2 peices they disappear. Ive tried this 3 or 4 times now and it does the same. Iv followed the tutorial to the word. The only change ive made is iv made evey part into a layer. I.E Top head, Jaw,neck,Frontlegs ETC.

:headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 03:25 AM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hello,

This type if thing sometimes occurs because the objects that you're trying to combine are not closed, if you have originally made the shapes from NURBS and have converted them to poygons the ends will still be open (unless you've already dealt with that!!).

Try marquee selecting the verts where they converge at the top and bottom of your objects, chances are you will see that instead of just one vert you have as many as there are edges radiating from that point. All you have to do is merge them and you should be flying.

If you haven't already got your poly count up on your heads up display I would suggest you put it there (Display > Heads Up Display > Poly Count), it's a pretty important tool as it shows you what the model is made from and how many items you have selected.

Hope that helps,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:12 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If what Mat says doesnŐt help, do a Polygon>Cleanup.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 11:29 AM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Also, if the two are not completely intersecting (ie. a tiny part of the edge of neck is not inside the head), then the two pieces will dissappear.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:05 AM   #5
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for all your replys i have moved maya over to my laptop which it attually runs better i think my g card is better.
However when i do the union operation nothing happens.

it doesn't change at all ive checked to see if the neck is in the head and it is.

thanks SB.
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:36 AM   #6
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

help me please!!!
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:37 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can you post a pic?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:55 AM   #8
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is going to sound stupid but iv just found this link so i followed t on th last post i realised im doing the samething however. When i try to union the 2 pieces it happens again both pieces dissappear.

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17692
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 09:45 AM   #9
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you test with the different options of polygon cleanup? I had the same problem as you and it fixed it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:02 PM   #10
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Great pic (posting all 4 views). In the side view I count 7 edges loops on the neck from bottom to top. If there are only 7 edges then you don't have the neck completely in the head. I should only be able to see 6 edges. grap the top edge or vertexes and shove them way up into the head, about half way. Don't worry because the boolean will cut off all the excess inside the head.

So, If there really are only 7 edges on your neck then your boolean isn't working because of that. If there are 8 edge loops then I would definitely try Jr. Who's suggestion.

Good luck! let us know if it works.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:59 PM   #11
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Disappearing polys happen very often when the two objects you want to boolean is pretty complicated.

For your case, I guess you're trying to combine the neck and the head together. I sugguest you to use the command Combine instead. After that, snap the corresponding vertices together and apply a Merge.

Check that you have merged properly by choosing Display->Polygons->Border Edges

Delete unnecessary faces also.
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:03 PM   #12
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by parka
Disappearing polys happen very often when the two objects you want to boolean is pretty complicated.

For your case, I guess you're trying to combine the neck and the head together. I sugguest you to use the command Combine instead. After that, snap the corresponding vertices together and apply a Merge.

Check that you have merged properly by choosing Display->Polygons->Border Edges

Delete unnecessary faces also.
ThatŐs the harder way of doing it (in this case), and sometimes has worse results.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:08 PM   #13
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Nothing can be worse than disappearing polys.
Anyway, it depends on what's needed as the end result.

I almost always have this type of problems with boolean-ing complicated polygons. So far, going the long way has always worked for me.
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:52 PM   #14
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Just in case I confused you earlier.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:01 PM   #15
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Perfecto beat me too it.

The line he has indicated is the problem...

To get booleans to work properly all geo has to be tucked inside the other geo. If it is not the boolean fails and all the geo disappears.

Booleans are a real hit and miss (so I am told), just keep at it and it will work. the geo seems ok, so there should not be too much work to do after the boolean

Good Luck.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.