Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-06-2007, 02:07 PM   #1
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default poly 2 subdiv

when i convert my cartoon dog from polygons to subdiv i get the message

polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 1000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface8|polySurfaceShape13;
// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): One or more edges is nonmanifold.
// Nonmanifold geometry cannot be converted to a subdivision surface.
// To clean up nonmanifold edges, use Mesh->Cleanup with the nonmanifold option. //
// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details. //

i try to clean up using tool and i get this

polyToSubdiv -ap 0 -ch off -aut on -maxPolyCount 1000 -maxEdgesPerVert 32 |polySurface9|polySurfaceShape14;
// Error: polyToSubdiv1 (Poly To Subdiv Node): The conversion to a subdivision surface failed.
// One or more duplicated edges were present.
// Repair the duplicate edges by selecting the polygon
// and issuing the following command, then try again:
select .e[985] .e[843] .e[771] ;string $v[] = `polyListComponentConversion -fe -tv`;select $v;polySplitVertex;polyMergeVertex -d 0.0 -tx 1; //
// Error: Command polyToSubdiv failed. Open Script Editor for details.

i dont have a thick border edge. also iv had alot of problems with when i delete edges. some of my inner edges are border edges but there randomly spread about. Im lost!

Thanks for reading this.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.

Last edited by barnettbeans : 09-06-2007 at 02:12 PM.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 03:35 PM   #2
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Try make sure that when you have attached something like, the leg to the body or head to the body etc ... that you have properly merged verticies together and left out none.

You can try check this out by individual clicking onto verticles and moving them to see if anything is hidding behind them. Hope this helps abit,
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 08:10 PM   #3
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

iv tried this and gone through every cv but still stuck is a stupid mistake on my part im unsure heres the save file.

http://www.uploading.com/en/files/NP...tbedel.mb.html

cheers
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 04:05 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

did you run the script that maya generated for you?

Quote

// One or more duplicated edges were present.
// Repair the duplicate edges by selecting the polygon
// and issuing the following command, then try again:
select .e[985] .e[843] .e[771] ;string $v[] = `polyListComponentConversion -fe -tv`;select $v;polySplitVertex;polyMergeVertex -d 0.0 -tx 1; //

this tells you to run the

select .e[985] .e[843] .e[771] ;string $v[] = `polyListComponentConversion -fe -tv`;select $v;polySplitVertex;polyMergeVertex -d 0.0 -tx 1;

part of the message in the script editor and then do the conversion to sub d again.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 01:59 AM   #5
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

i just relised that your running 8.5 while im using 7, if you want try convert it if you still havn't fixed the problem and want to figure it out ...
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 11:09 AM   #6
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well i used a bit of both to convert to subdiv there was 3 surface that were not conected also 2 surfaces that wasnt connected in a proper way.

Thanks guys im nearly done now.
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.