Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-06-2007, 03:11 PM   #1
semeon
Subscriber
 
semeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: west midlands
Posts: 75
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Angry troubleshooting GI problem

Hi all
am having a bit of parlava with spot light MentalRay attribute i have gone tho all proceedures possible but to no avil. basically i want to generate photons using a spot light however the mental ray control refuse to show in the attribute editor i need some help anyone. i have mentalray active etc . mentalray is sending me mental.....
semeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 02:07 AM   #2
younglion
Registered User
 
younglion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: t-dot
Posts: 646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

go to the render globals and under the mental ray tab scroll down to gi and caustics and check gi.
__________________
wip
Kleemann cl65
my concept car
younglion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 11:48 AM   #3
semeon
Subscriber
 
semeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: west midlands
Posts: 75
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy GI Problem

thanks for the rely YoungLion but ive already done that in the Render globals and notting is still showing in the attribute editor for the spot ligth i am using maya 7 and am thinking could it be my maya version or something is really wrong somewere
semeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 11:53 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I cant quire remember off the top of my head but I think that one of the lights you cant get it to emitt photons for GI??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 12:34 PM   #5
semeon
Subscriber
 
semeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: west midlands
Posts: 75
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default GI Problem

So jester you think i should try use a diff light than the spot light
semeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 12:41 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Could do, I think that ther eis one in maya though that cant emitt them, and it could be the spotlight, might be wrong though, give it a go with the area light, jusat convert the spot into an ares (using the dropdown menu in the Attribute editor)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 01:03 PM   #7
younglion
Registered User
 
younglion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: t-dot
Posts: 646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no the spot light is ideal for gi, i think you should delete the light and create a new new and see if you get the same error
__________________
wip
Kleemann cl65
my concept car
younglion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 01:20 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Like I said, ive not had a look, but i'm pretty sure that theres a light that doest support GI, might not be the spot, could be the point light or something.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2007, 08:49 PM   #9
semeon
Subscriber
 
semeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: west midlands
Posts: 75
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Red face

I have tried other lights suprise .... suprise the point light ,area light and directional light does provide mentalray settings . i dont understand so gys if you find a solution to this pls keep me informed

cheers
semeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.