Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-06-2007, 08:17 AM   #1
various artist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question computer vs programs

hi everybody I just wanna work 3d and will buy a new notebook but I can't make a decision between macbooks or pcs. what kind of computer you use? what are tha adventages and disadvantages a macbook for 3d working?

Last edited by various artist : 21-06-2007 at 08:31 AM.
various artist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 09:10 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

i personally use a PC. I don't really think it matters one way or another for 3D work if you use apple or pc or whatever.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 09:35 AM   #3
IJke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I use a Macbook Pro and I've used a PC for a long time. I can tell you that Macs are great, but the greatest thing is that the Macs out right now support both Mac OS X and Windows XP/Vista. You can boot either OS and it works great.

Most of the 3D apps are available for Mac, 3DS Max and ZBrush 3 are not available (ZBrush will come soon, I think).

There are no real advantages for Mac over PC, the apps are the same. The OS is more stable than XP/Vista, but that all depends on how you use your computer. If you're a responsible user Windows is just as stable as Tiger. Then there's the visual part. In my opinion Macs look and feel much better than PC laptops. But that quality is something you pay for, Macs are generally more expensive than PC's. But, Mac laptops generally stay useful for a long time, I've used my previous Powerbook for 6 years, never a problem.

The Mac OS, Tiger, is great. Very stable and slick. Unlike Windows you don't have to worry about viruses, which is great. In October the new Apple OS will debut, Leopard, and it's looking very impressive.

So yeah, me being a Mac user I would recommend a Mac. You don't lose the functionality of Windows because you can use XP/Vista on your Mac. It is even possible to have Windows apps inside Tiger, using Parallels. Also, they look great and just work. On the other hand, they're more expensive, and especially with laptops you have no real upgrade possibility. Maybe a hard drive, but no graphics cards. But if you want upgradability you should buy a tower PC/Mac, and no laptop.
IJke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 04:07 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

The majority of the industry use PC/Windows. Forget the Mac as Maya 8+ is very buggy and tends to crash alot.

Its not 100% tru that macs are virus free they are just not. Especially since they are x86 based now. Even under Risk Chip there was one or two viruses.

Stick with what you know, if you already know windows stay with it.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2007, 10:41 PM   #5
various artist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wink

thanks for your help!!
various artist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 12:14 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I use a PC, I thought of the switch to mac a while ago, but chose PC, I was going for a new laptop, with a PC you get more choice especially in the graphics department, which maya can be a bit pickey with, also a lot of the programms that I may/may not use seem to be windows only (at the mo) and I couldent see any advantage of a dual boot system... seemed to me like buying an automatic car with a manual system and never using the auto box, and paying extra for it too.

end ofthe day though its up to you, I went with the Dell XPS M1710. which I was comapring to the Mac Book Pro, as its a simliar price, but has a better screen res, better graphics, same processor's, RAM options (although the XPS can go to 4 Gig, where the mac Maxes out at 2 gig). Dosent look as pretty as the mac though!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 03:21 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
RAM options (although the XPS can go to 4 Gig, where the mac Maxes out at 2 gig).
Macs donŐt need as much memory as PCs though.

Last edited by Jr.Who : 22-06-2007 at 03:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 03:30 AM   #8
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Jr.Who > 'Mac donŐt need as much memory as PCs though.'

While the Mac OS may not need as much memory as Vista, its still vital for your apps (such as Maya) to get as much memory as possible.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 04:25 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Macs donŐt need as much memory as PCs though.
Not up to a gigabyte difference, poss 100 meg or so, and if your going to run windows off a mac, wont that take up the memory anyway??

Like the Architect said if your running programms that take up lots of RAM (like maya) having a restriction on the max you can use is a bit of a pain when its not the max of the OS
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.