Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-06-2007, 05:06 AM   #1
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default Poly to update subd duplicate

Hi everyone,
I want to know how I can create a duplicate of my poly mesh with the following ability.

1. I want the duplicate to be either a smoothed version of my base mesh or a subd.
2. I want to be able to make changes to my base mesh while seeing instant updates to the subd/smoothed duplicate.

I've seen this somewhere but it's been awhile and I don't rember where I saw it.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 08:17 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Polygons menu set, Proxy -> sub div proxy (its a smoohted poly model in the axis you choose) not really a sub division surface
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 09:02 AM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Thanks gstr123, not exactly what I was looking for but I think it's still good because the results are basically the same. Thanks!
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 10:06 AM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

gster123, actually it was exactly what I was looking for. I duplicated my model with instance and then selected the duplicate and applied proxy with subdiv level 3 and subdiv transparency 1.0. Then I turned off Wire on smooth shade.
Now I've got a base mesh and a subdiv that updates automatically when I modify the base. Perfect!
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2007, 11:38 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

No probs, What I generally do is use a full cube delete half of it then make a instance (same low poly level) untill I get a decent edge loop folw etc, i'll then delete the instance and the history on the low mesh then make the sub div proxy, so I have a half smoothed half low poly model, that way I just make the changes on the low poly model and it's updated on the higher poly model.


Hope it helps and makes sense!!


edit- I generally make the sub div proxy a negatave in the scale that I need, so it goes on the other side.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.