Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-07-2007, 03:29 PM   #1
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question boolean difference - Where is it?

Hello, I am new to these forums and new to Maya so I know very little. I was wondering where the boolean difference for the mesh is. I dont know how to use it or where the button is. Could someone please screenshot its position for me please.

Louis

EDIT:: Its not a NURBS its the mesh boolean difference.
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 03:51 PM   #2
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb

Success!!! I found it. I had to press F3 then go Mesh > Booleen.

Louis
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:17 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

If you gete stuck with finding simple stuff, have a look in the help files, press F1 then go to search, you can then put in the tool name and it will come up with where it is and how to use it. Save you time posting and then waiting for a reply, which if its a really simple question might take ages.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 05:15 PM   #4
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh trust me I looked. lol. But it just said goto Mesh > Boolean and mine didnt have Mesh. And the instructions didnt say to press F3.

Louis
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 06:25 PM   #5
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I take that youŐre using Maya 8 (or 8.5)? When Autodesk updated Maya they redesigned the interface and now the menus are split up some. In the menu bar on the upper left thereŐs something that could say Polygons, NURBS, Animation, etc. The thing you were looking for would be under Polygons.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 06:28 PM   #6
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I have 8.5.

Its really annoying because all the tutorials are for earlier versions and I can hardly find anything. :angery:

Getting there though. Only used it for 1 day lol. If anyone has some 8.5 tutorials for beginners that would be nice :blush:

Thanks,
Louis
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 09:46 PM   #7
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Hi louis56, welcome to Maya and to Simply Maya. I also have 8.5 so I understand your frustration. The help files are really your best friend starting out as gster123 mentioned. It includes some basic tutorials that will really help you get started. there's also a "What's New" section that has some very useful info.

After a while, you'll get use to where the tools are as well as how to find them and what terminology to use for your searches. Then the older tutorials will be a breeze for you.

F3 will switch your menu's to the mesh but you don't have to use F3 (I do because it's quicker). But like Jr. Who said, there's a drop down box at the upper left of your screen below the file menu that has the same options as the F3 - F7(?).

Looking forward to seeing your Maya skills develop.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 03:29 AM   #8
louis56
Registered User
 
louis56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. I choose maya over the easier ones because I heard you can do more. I think you may be right about the help files.

Look forward to my own maya skills develop :p
louis56 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.