Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-07-2007, 06:05 PM   #1
ArtieLange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Alpha Channel visible using Ray Tracing.

Hey, I'm new.

I have a polygon plane with a image map shader on it. I saved the image uncompressed .tga with an alpha channel. I'm rendering through mental ray using ray tracing (because its the only lighting setting that uses the alpha channel of my image map).

I thought it was alpha channel but I checked it in Photoshop and everything seems good. I switched from one rendering software to another and I still get this very transparent alpha channel. How do I get rid of the semi-opaque alpha channel on my image map. Image is attached.
Attached Thumbnails
 
ArtieLange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2007, 06:44 PM   #2
ArtieLange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I fixed it! I went to the material shader of the image map and under raytrace options I turn down "Shadow Attenuation" to 0.00.
ArtieLange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 05:56 PM   #3
ArtieLange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alright, I'm still having the same problem with another project. I turn down "Shadow Attenuation" to 0.00 and it still doesn't get rid of the black box. Even through raytracing I still get this polygon plane shadow.
ArtieLange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 06:05 PM   #4
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

adjust the levels correctly in photoshop.
make shure the whites are pure white
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 06:19 PM   #5
ArtieLange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The alpha channel is fine when I bring it into photoshop but I'll try to see if there is any residue white left.

Last edited by ArtieLange : 24-07-2007 at 08:18 PM.
ArtieLange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 06:24 PM   #6
ArtieLange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is the photo
Attached Thumbnails
 
ArtieLange is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.