Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-07-2007, 08:57 PM   #1
mobkon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to combine my finished model?

Hello. I have just finished my model. It consists of multiple polys and a few nurbs. I set up a skeleton and did some basic arm and leg animation, but when I go to select the whole thing and try to move it as one object, it comes apart and doesnt move as one. I have tried selecting each piece in the outliner, I have tried to group it, but that still doesnt let the object stay together. I need to do some animation where this object looks like its walking. My pivot points for each object are different places as well, could this be the problem?

edit: the model no longer contains nurbs. I changed everything over to polys and it still isnt working... hmmmm
mobkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2007, 03:17 AM   #2
Eelco
Registered User
 
Eelco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In my dreams
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

When u select all objects and move them all together, they will move in their own 'object space'. U can choose the 'world space' pressing 'w' and LMB. This does not work for scale and rotate because the 'w' is also s shortcut/hotkey for translate, so it will jump back in translate mode every time u change the orientation space.
Does anybody know how to change the orientation space for scale and rotate?
It's a shortcut/hotkey and therefor should be somewhere in the menus too. But I'm not able to find it.

Other solutions would be to group them and move the group. U could also use Mesh>Combine to make it a single object.
But for a robot-like character, you'd typically put them in hierarchy with the joints (parent the handmesh under the hand-joint, arm-mesh under the arm-joint,etc). For human-like characters, u'd 'bind' the joint-skeleton to the mesh.

Last edited by Eelco : 23-07-2007 at 03:21 AM.
Eelco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.