Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-12-2002, 10:04 AM   #1
dfp1
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Okay, I know I'm killin everyone but ....

Hi,

I have no idea what's going on or what button (i.e. HOTKEY) that I hit, but if I select any object and then vertex and then select some vertex's and move them ... it's like a have a copy of the object underneath ... it's really weird.

I have a rectangle with a square cut out and when I select vertex and move them the original geometry sits where it is and then if I move the points I have the new geometry - hole created by the move and the old geometry hole underneath it .... I am lost ... although I am sure this could be VERY handy in some situations.

Oh yeah, it's 5:00 in the morning and I really am not dillusional .... just on a roll and without care ... well except for the old geometry sting around >>>>


Cheers,


Don.
dfp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 10:47 AM   #2
dfp1
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I took the scene file from a couple back ... I save alot and redid the scale all objects using the method provided by Danny in one of my previous threads and all seems to be fine.

Although, I would really liek to know what I did that made Maya behave such that when I picked some geometry it immmediately created a duplicate of the gemetry on top of the original geometry when I right clicked and selected vertex over the geometry and then when I completed the vertex moves it created the new geometry leaving me with the original and the new .....


Any thoughts ...... ????


Cheers,

Don.


It's 6:00 a.m. should I start a new day or just carry on with the old one ..... perhaps I should just blur them together.
dfp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 10:52 AM   #3
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess you only hit Ctrl D and made a duplicate of the object. When going into "vertice mode" you will only affect the vertices on one object at a time, unless you makes several objects "go into" "vertice mode", but that means you have to right-klick two or more objects.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2002, 05:56 PM   #4
dfp1
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep,

U would be correct .... only thing is that I did on the whole scene .... I guess that's why we need sleep :o). I checked in Outliner and sure enough I had dupes of everything ..... well, at least there was a solid reason ..... besically me being an IDIOT ....

Thanks for your help !!! AGAIN.
dfp1 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.