Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-08-2007, 02:00 AM   #1
pinwheel
Registered User
 
pinwheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hiccup rendering from dos

Would anyone know what would disable me from batchrendering some 6.5 maya files from dos?

I've set all the parameters within the file itself and decided to render through dos

C:\New\Projects>render test.mb

mental ray for Maya 6.5
mental ray: version 3.4.1.5, 27 Dec 2004
Error: File not found.: ./test.mb
Error: Scene was not loaded properly, please check the scene name
mental ray: wallclock 0:00:02.69 total
mental ray: allocated 1 MB, max resident 2 MB

I know the file is in this directory so it should be loading ok. This only happens with a few of them.
pinwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:40 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

What was the code that you put in?

Also not too sure but is the / right, should it not be \??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 08:26 PM   #3
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

This is probably a very stupid NOOB question, but here goes....Why would you render from DOS, isn't it easier to do so in maya ?


edit;
And gster; i think your right about this \ instead of /.(i know because i'm always looking for that thing on the keyboard when i need it:p )

Last edited by mastone : 04-08-2007 at 08:29 PM.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 08:43 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

you render from DOS as it lets you render without maya open (or any other programme), i.e you use all the CPU and ram that your system has
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 08:50 PM   #5
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

But to my knowledge when you render something that's worth while, the renderer will always take all the juice out of your computer and you have to find another hobby for a couple of hours, or is this different when you render from DOS.
And MAYA doesn't use much processor power when idle(like 2% on my comp), and you can go in the render globals, check the file you want to render, playblast any animations and so on
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 08:57 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You have maya open and it takes, sat 300meg of RAM rendering from DOS frees up that.

Trust me its faster.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.