Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-08-2007, 03:22 AM   #1
Mn8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Apache Render Layers Question? Shadow Pass

Hi,

The Apache tutorial is amazing.

I am working on the animation section and have already completed the first render; however, I am stuck on the Shadow Pass.

I am using Maya 8.5 and I can see the Render Layers works differently than version 6 Kari is using.

No matter what I do, the helicopter's Alpha shows up with the shadow alpha on the ground plane. I can manage to turn them both off, but I can't seem to isolate just the Shadow pass on the ground plane, the helicopter's alpha always shows up as well. When I manage to turn off the Helicopters Alpha, the Ground Shadow won't show up either.

I think there must be a simple thing that I am missing that is a feature of Maya 8.5. I am new to Render Layers, but it seems like I should be able to get it to render just the shadows.

Any help would be appreciated.



Also if Kari Brown happens to read this, fantastic work man! Thanks for taking the time to show all the details.

Congratulations on being a TD for Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix....that is awesome. Did you meet JKR???

Last edited by Mn8 : 06-08-2007 at 08:29 AM.
Mn8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 12:02 AM   #2
Mn8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone, any ideas? I have tried several more hours still with no luck on getting just the ground shadow to render.

thanks in advance
Mn8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.