Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-08-2007, 06:23 PM   #1
Anouvee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How To Make A Sky?

Hi,

how i create a Sky in Maya?

I try two different ways of create a sky, but both dont look good.

1. I used a Sphere and mapped sky on it.
Problem: I cant see the hole Sphere, Maya fade it out in the distance. I have changed the Farclipping Plane of the Camera, but nothing happend.

2. I used mia_phisicalsky
Problem: If i put a Noise Texture in the Haze Channel to simulate clouds, there ist a seam at my sky. I tried Translation and Offset to move it away, but nothing happend. The seam stays always at the same position.
Anouvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2007, 10:49 PM   #2
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

What version of maya are you working with
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 05:18 PM   #3
Anouvee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

8.5
Anouvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2007, 07:29 AM   #4
BadG3r
Subscriber
 
BadG3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

increase the farclipping plane of all cameras persp and your rendercam even more. and if the scene is lit you have to light the sphere as well, of course
BadG3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2007, 09:02 AM   #5
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Try opening the visor, select fluid examples, open clouds and fog and right click to import one of the files.

The attached image is created using this method, hope it helps.
Attached Thumbnails
 
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2007, 05:59 PM   #6
Anouvee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks, now the farclipping works, i can see the whole scene, but only if the grid is not displayed
Anouvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2007, 12:19 AM   #7
Phrosting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

to turn off grid go to display > grid, its on the top menu
Phrosting is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.