Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-09-2007, 10:43 AM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Workflow questions

Hi,

I've got a question regarding workflow and deleting histories. I believe that you shouldn't delete after you paint weights, but what is the situation for blend shapes, cloth etc? Say you model, create blend shapes/hair/cloth, bind, paint weights - at what point does it become unsafe to delete your history?

Also, concerning smoothed meshes - should you just complete an animation unsmoothed, then smooth your mesh? Or smooth a copy, keep it aside, and then attach that mesh to the skeleton?

Thanks,

gubar.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2007, 04:18 PM   #2
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Okay, these are valid points I will answer best I can.

Creating the model is fine, delete history as you go. But the minute you bind it and paint weights your history will sort of build up again becuase of the skin clusters being created to the joints etc. But then if you delete the history on the bound figure/model it will come out of the bind and all your skin clusters will be lost., and the character will be in the modelling state so to speak. the same goes for blend shapes, if you delete the history on a head once the targets are fed in you'll lose them. So some history is good some is bad.

Also worth pointing out is that if you are rendering a still image for example of a posed figure you may want to delete the history and delete the skeleton entirely to say sculpt a better model in the desired position for you render. It will also make the scene lighter for this type of exercise

Hope Im making sense
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2007, 04:50 PM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Thanks jay,

makes perfect sense. It's kind of what I thought, just wanted to get another opinion before I take my project any further. Basically, you can delete all your histories while you model (and texture I guess), but once you're past that stage the history becomes integral to the project.

Thanks,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2007, 06:07 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, you don’t want to delete your history after you do that. You can always delete a part of history you don’t need.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2007, 06:25 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

How do you delete "part" of the history?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2007, 07:44 PM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
How do you delete "part" of the history?
Well, you select the part of the history you want to delete, copy the name (pic 1), go to the select box on the menu bar (to the right of the render stuff), paste the name in (pic 2), hit enter (which selects the history), then hit delete!

Cool, or what?
Attached Thumbnails
 
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2007, 07:03 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I must be missing something, that just deletes my model?

Oh well good job I keep an eye on my history.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2007, 07:45 AM   #8
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
I must be missing something, that just deletes my model?

Oh well good job I keep an eye on my history.
What piece of history did you delete?
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2007, 08:43 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I mad ea cube, inserted 2 edge loops, then smoothed the cube, selected one of the edge loop splits and did what you said, bang deleted the whole thing
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2007, 09:04 PM   #10
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That’s odd…… After you hit enter, does it select the edge loop history?
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.