Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-09-2007, 01:40 AM   #1
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Graphics card vs Memory/Ram

Hey guys just a quick question from me,

When are the 2 options needed?

Such as when rendering, is ram only used? or is the graphics card involved in it as well.

Would it be better off to get a top priced graphics card with 2 gig of ram, or a good graphics card with 4 gig of ram if you get what i mean...

which is more NEEDED?

Thanks, Marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 01:54 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I would say get a better graphics card, you can always add RAM as you can afford it and 2Gigs should be plenty for almost all tasks.
I have had both situations and to tell you the truth I very rarely use 4 gigs of RAM but if you get a good graphics card with say 256 of inbuilt Ram and good Open GL support you will probably find you won't need much more RAM than 2Gigs.
Just my opinion of course.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 02:18 AM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I dunno, all I can say form my experiance is that in one PC Ive got it has dual ATI 1900's in crossfire, and if I take one out I dont see any difference at all in maya, only if I really really up the poly count does it make a difference, textures are displayed the same etc etc

When it comes to rendering the scene ive got to say that the graphics card does nothing (if your using mental ray/software, as using hardware its the only thing that does it but how many times do you use that?) so the ram's really usefull. Ive created a character with hair and that crashes out with 2 gigs of ram with the output window saying that mental ray cant allocate enough memory, with 4 gigs it renders no probs.

As I dont play games I probably would go with the RAM and a lower priced card.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2007, 03:49 AM   #4
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thanks for your opinion guys, Both valid points...

Probably wont get the best card out there now as i am starting to cut down on games since the past few weeks, and trying to learn as much Maya as i can before i graduate next year so that i can create a good portfolio.

Cheers again both Jsprogg and Steve.

Marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2007, 07:55 AM   #5
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ra m is usefull

dont worry about gaming on a quadro or firlegl card they are both based off th gaming counterparts


my 128mb firegl out performs my 256mb gaming card


but would get 2gig ram as rendering need ram and cpu

also when modfelling if u run with lag on high ploy just isolate the selected area to speed things up again
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2007, 04:06 PM   #6
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

"dont worry about gaming on a quadro or firlegl card they are both based off th gaming counterparts"

Yeah, came across that in some graphics card article on the net... Would love to have the quadro but man its expensive lol,

"also when modelling if u run with lag on high ploy just isolate the selected area to speed things up again"

Just relised i could do that now that you mentioned it

Cheers
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.