Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-09-2007, 09:43 AM   #1
delesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default small lights

i have a problem with displaying lights and cams
in the viewport of maya.
when i create a cam or a light first no symbol appears in the viewport
but when i extremely zoom in- i see they are there, but ultra ultrasmall.
how can i change display size of the cam and lights symbols to easy pick them in the viewport scene.i looked trough preferences
and display stuff but did not find an answer yet.
Attached Thumbnails
 
delesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 05:16 PM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

you can use the scale tool on the camera, but i dont know about the lights
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 05:47 AM   #3
delesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default first aid not too bad

thank you
alright it works i can scale both cameras and lights in size.
but when i go create again the next one created
remains so supertiny each time that i see nothing in the viewport
only if i select them in outliner with move scale or rotate tool on i
get the axis handles of those tools but the symbol itself is so tiny
its not displayed.


so your idea is a first sollution around the problem
but does not solve it really becuase i would like to return to creation standarts by default.
Attached Thumbnails
 
delesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 06:08 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

it is probably more to do with your scene size than camera settings, are you working in Meters? try changing to Centimeters under Settings in the Prefrences, the camera should be a lot bigger.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 11:00 AM   #5
delesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default that was it

thanks that was the excact problem!
i started a tutorial early this year but did not get very far. now as you mentioned the problem i remembered that at the beginning of this tutorial i followed some instructions that included changig
to meters but i completely forgot and would never thought of it again probably.
so this was a great help.
a great forum, thank you.
delesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Simply Maya Site Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 82 05-05-2011 06:43 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.