Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-10-2007, 08:40 PM   #1
wirercx
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default centering vertices?

Hi there!
I just started a new project after a long break from maya.
So here is what I want to know how to do. I just cut a model in half so i can work on it and duplicate it later. But I forget how I can center all the vertices to the y axis on the grid for easy duplication.

Here is a screenshot of what it is so you can have a better idea of what I am asking:


Thanks
wirercx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 09:43 PM   #2
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

with them selected, just move them while holding x to snap to the grid.

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 09:48 PM   #3
wirercx
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh ok! Thank you so much
I was trying to use "v" instead of x

XD
wirercx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 11:26 PM   #4
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

heres what I recommend. Select all those verts and scale them down along the x-axis. once they're all aligned, u can snap all of them to the center as a selection.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2007, 02:15 AM   #5
wirercx
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the handy tip

now i gotta work out a three sided poly problem...
wirercx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2007, 06:01 AM   #6
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

if you turn off 'retain component spacing' in the move tool options, than they should all snap to the middle together.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.