Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-10-2007, 10:32 AM   #1
nexusfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default why doesnt it work like its suppose to? help me

well i boolean'ed my geomatry, now when i go try and bevel the edges my boolened holes dissapear and the mesh gets all nasty and weird, why does this happen? and how do i fix it, i tryed removing the history and stuff but still it wont work.
nexusfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 12:55 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Um, this question has been answered hundreds of times. Go to the search function of the site and search for booleans. You'll find an answer then. Welcome to SM btw.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 01:41 PM   #3
nexusfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

or you could of just told me ?
nexusfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 01:43 PM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

AnthonyCg is right, many questions have already been asked and it's just a matter of searching the threads. However, I find this to be the main reason for boolean problems (but not the only reason. Check the threads for more solutions if this doesn't work for you.

Just make sure there's a line intersecting the area you're going to perform a boolean. Look at the pic and you'll see that the only difference is the line going across the box on the right.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 06:22 AM
Character animation-Finished work maheshsubbiah Finished Work 7 05-12-2010 05:04 AM
SimplyMaya 2010 - Community Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 8 01-12-2010 05:28 PM
Saw II work mtmckinley Finished Work 8 16-11-2010 01:33 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.