Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-10-2007, 01:49 AM   #1
Balt_en
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Same help with PLE!?!?!?

Hi,
I just downloded same free tutorials and in the tutorial the guy says that I shuld have modeling meniu in maya...but there is no such a thing in there (I have only Maya PLE). Can samone help me please........
Balt_en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2007, 01:57 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Iím guessing that you have 8.5? The Modeling menu has been split between Polygons and NURBS since 8.0.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2007, 02:11 AM   #3
Balt_en
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
Iím guessing that you have 8.5? The Modeling menu has been split between Polygons and NURBS since 8.0.


Okaj......:attn:
but wich shuld I use for modeling???
Balt_en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2007, 02:13 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Use the Polygons menu set for creating and editing Polygons and the Surfaces menu set for creating and editing Nurbs. You can also create your own menu set with both if you want and find that easier just choose Customise then New Menu Set and then add the things you want to your menu.
Other differences you will notice is the the Polygons tab is now called Mesh and the Edit Polygons is now called Edit Mesh.The Normals menu used to be under the edit Polygons tab but now has it's own menu.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg : 24-10-2007 at 02:24 AM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2007, 02:37 AM   #5
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
the Surfaces menu set for creating and editing Nurbs.
lol, thanks for correcting me.

I havenít been able to start Maya up in the last couple of days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2007, 02:41 AM   #6
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Is something up Jr or have you just been too busy ?
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2007, 02:47 AM   #7
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
Is something up Jr or have you just been too busy ?
Iím one of the unlucky Mac users having problems upgrading to Leopard. This is the biggest problem that Iíve ever had on my computer.

Last edited by Jr.Who : 24-10-2007 at 03:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinģ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.