Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-10-2007, 03:08 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Whited out workspace? PLEASED TO ANNOUNCE!

Hello all,

I am pleased to say i found the solution to my problem, and i am pretty sure this will be of benefit to everyone else I HOPE? After getting to my last tuft of hair LOL!! I tried all the solutions that had been posted in different forums about right clicking Maya.exe and changing compatability, disabling visual themes and desktop composition! Alas they did not work for i was just about done........but as a last resort i went into my Nvidia Display 3D settings panel switched all settings to OFF and then tried MAYA and hey presto everything worked beautifully i could even use my Vista Aero theme. So then all i needed to do was systematically work my way through each setting IE: Turn each setting on 1 by 1 and eventually i found the culprit!!! It was the EXTENSION LIMIT that causes the whited out workspace. Switched everything else back on or to the settings that suited me and everything runs sweetly :-)

I have included an image to help, of course this also depends on what system or Comp set up you have but i am confident you will find your Nvidia settings Panel.


Please feel free to post this on any other forums you have come across people having the same poblem CHEERS!

And thanks again Arran & Js

Last edited by tthetank : 30-10-2007 at 03:55 PM.
tthetank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2007, 11:27 PM   #2
SM Site Programmer
David's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,981
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts

Thanks for the tip

Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2007, 01:06 PM   #3
Registered User
arran's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

Glad you finally managed to sort it out!

And thanks for posting up the solution - that was very confusing.

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.