Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-11-2007, 05:43 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default From Maya to Zbrush

HI all,

more af a zbrush than a maya question, but posting here because I've tried the zbrush forums and they're so slow.

I've got a character model, one piece from head to toe. In zbrush, a subdivision level high enough is too slow. So, I've googled and read tuts on how to sort this but still can't figure it out.

I want to be able to selectively work on different parts of my model so I can subdivide further; I've tried with quick select sets (head, torso, leftArm, rightArm) which seem to be recognised (maya says my object has "x" groups) but they don't work when I try to split polygoups.

Even tried downloading mudbox trial, which crashes when I subdivide (got a couple of tris, which I just can't get rid of, think these are to blame).

If someone could explain how I can divide up my mesh in zbrush to allow me to work more efficiently at high subd levels, I'd be very grateful. Spent all day yesterday and had no luck.


gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 05:49 PM   #2
gster123's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts

Cant you just hide the parts that you dont want to use? Thats what I do if it gets too slow.

How high are you going with it?
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 05:55 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts

Hi there,

since it's a whole torso, a couple of million. The legs are completely fine since they won't be seen... I hadn't thought about what you suggest, as simple as it sounds... I don't have zbrush in front of me just now - so you can just divide, it'll get slow, but then just show the part you're working on?

It sounds so simple I can't believe I never tried it... should have been the first thing I tried.

thanks again gster,

gubar is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.