Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-12-2007, 12:27 AM   #1
Phillis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HELP! PLS !

Hey !! Im new with Maya . and i seem to be doing well i think lol. but i was watching some tutorials and i see that when ppl
model a character they have pictures in the bakc as a reference of like 2 or 3 difrent angles. well anyways i was wondering how to get them pictures there. i just cant seem to figure it out ! If anyone could help me out i would like that ! Tnx


PHIL
Phillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 01:00 AM   #2
bigtommyb
Subscriber
 
bigtommyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You need to insert an image plane... its quite simple and only takes a few clicks.

-First make sure your reference images are all to scale.

-Then in the corresponding view (so side image go to the right view) go to View > Image Plane > Import Image

-Then move the image plane so they are all level and then push them out so they arn't in the way in your perspective view.

-If you want them completely removed from the perspective view select the image plane and then under the image plane attributes change the Display to Looking Through Camera.


Hope that helps!

T
bigtommyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 01:16 AM   #3
Phillis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default WOw Tnx!

Tnx Alot ! i got it now lol after hours of wanting to beet up my computer i finaly got it TANKYOU SO MUCH !!!!!
Phillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 01:50 AM   #4
bigtommyb
Subscriber
 
bigtommyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Haha no problem i had the same problem lots of tutorials saying to do it but not saying how to do it.
bigtommyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 04:12 AM   #5
Phillis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Lol i know. And i found one that shows how to do it but. it was for some older version and it wasent the same on maya 2008 but now i have another problem lol i cant figure out why i dont have the modeling setting . like the thing thats under file and edit. but im wondering again if its cause its an older version again lol
Phillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 04:17 AM   #6
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

In later versions of Maya the modelling menu set was split into two menues, Polygons for polygon modelling and Surfaces for nurbs modeling .
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg : 05-12-2007 at 01:44 PM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.