Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-12-2007, 04:57 AM   #1
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Poly to subdiv hell!

Hello. Working in Maya 8.5 on a dell Precision 690. Using Windows XP Pro.

I am trying to convery a piece of geometry in to a subdiv. I had it converted earlier, then went back to poly to work on it (deleting inner faces so as to combine/merge with mirror image.

Started getting bugs in the conversion between polys and subdivs earlier but seemed to get around it, or so I thought. Now I am stuck in a loop.

here's where the loop starts:
I try to convert this poly to subdiv and get an error message.

Script editor tells me: "Nonmanifold geometry cannot be converted to a subdivision surface.
// To clean up nonmanifold edges, use Mesh->Cleanup with the nonmanifold option. // "

So I do. When I click "clean-up" the poly switches to component mode with two faces highlighted. I check and discover that the entire poly now has about quadruple the number of vertices, with 4 sitting in each vertice location. I select the entire poly/verts and merge them so as to get back to a clean mesh. This is where the loop ends.

I go back to object mode, try to convert to subdiv and re-enter this loop.

Anybody know what's causing this and how to fix?

Thanks for reading.

T
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 05:10 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Could be that those faces have reversed normals or you have two faces sharing the same space,the best solution would be to delete the two faces and either extrude the edges and merge or use the append to polygon tool to replace those faces and you might find it will work.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 05:59 AM   #3
Tristanartform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi JSprogg.

Not the normals -- I checked, but deleting those faces is worth trying. Thanks.

t
Tristanartform is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.