Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2007, 11:54 AM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Making a model symmetrical again - possible?

Hi,

if you're working on a model, and some of it becomes asymmetrical (in terms of it vertex position), is there an easy way to make it symmetrical again? I'm thinking of a some way to tell maya to copy the vertex positions from -x to +x, without having to duplicate and mirror.

thanks,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 12:11 PM   #2
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

So your trying to Flip the Object over the Axis (in a mirror like manner) but don't actually want to Mirror the Mesh or duplicate it???

In your Channels Box, with your object selected. Type "-1" in the "Scale X" Channel.

Now thats what i think you mean though i could be wrong.

If wrong Just post back with some more info.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 12:21 PM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hello,

no, I don't think I explained myself well.

I have a model that I want to be symmetrical - but it isn't. Somewhere along the road some of the vertices on one side have gotten out of alignment. I want it to be perfectly symmetrical. I've started UV mapping though so really don't want to delete half.

According to the help files, I should be able to select the vertices on one side, and transfer the position by selecting Edit Mesh > Transfer Attributes, selecting "Vertex Position" and "X" under "Mirroring", but nothing happens at all.

It's not something I've had to do before - but I'm hoping you or somebody has!

thanks,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 12:46 PM   #4
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

First thing you need to do for this to work, is select the Vertices's on the side you want Changing!!! Not the side you want to transfer the attributes from.

Ok, now in your Transfer attributes Options.

Make sure that, Vertex position is ON, and Vertex Normals is ON.

Also make sure Sample Space is set to "World".

And, Mirroring is set to "X" (or desired transfer axis)

Then Apply!

This should do it.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 12:56 PM   #5
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hello,

that's what I've tried, but it really isn't doing anything (apart from the "normal option" but I've checked it now)

... is there another setting that could be affecting it (in the way that the "merge" tolerance can mess up a mirror operation)?

It's really having no effect at all. I've tried deleting history/freezing etc but to no avail.

thanks,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 01:38 PM   #6
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

What is it your trying to Transfer???

I mean what is the model?

Whats stopping you from, chopping it in half and mirroring it?

The setting seem to work fine for me... maybe post an image, then maybe someone here might spot something.

Other than that I'm not sure!
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:05 PM   #7
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Here's an image.

It's a character model. I don't want to delete and mirror, because it's uv mapped and partially textured. I know it's not the recommended work flow but I'm tweaking the model as I go, and I've messed up some UVs along the way.

I know I could delete/mirror then transfer the UVs, but the transfer UVs isn't robust in my experience when you have several sets, which I do, so I really just wanted to mirror the vertice placement.

Anyway, I'm beat for the night so I'm off to bed, I'll check back tomorrow.

thanks again,

gubar
Attached Thumbnails
 
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 04:32 PM   #8
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Your model looks perfectly Symmetrical to me!

Also when i was experimenting, i found that bets results are achieved when you turn off Vertex normals. Sometimes this can create black areas on your mesh, where the normals are messed up!

So, like i said i don't see a difference in your mesh, So maybe thats why can't see any results.

Other than that i guess you could make sure your transferring over the right axis. Maybe your model is mirrored over the z Axis??

I'll keep playing with setting to see what i get in Maya, but like i said it's working fine for me.

Try creating a Sphere and messing up one side, and try the Transfer Attributes on that. If it works then you know it's the model thats having the problem, and vis versa.

Good luck
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:52 AM   #9
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

how many vertices are out? can you not just move them into place in the side view using v to snap?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:54 AM   #10
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can always cut your mesh in half and duplicate the good side and then connect the two good sides together. I never duplicate anything until its done or I need to make somethin asymetrical. If you're not done, using a smooth proxy should avoid these problems.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 05:09 AM   #11
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi folks,

haven't been able to try anything else (not had maya open) but I will be tomorrow.

Mayaniac, yeah I'll try a sphere when I can and see if it works - wonder what the implications for my model if it doesn't?

Arran - I'll try snapping if all else fails, was just looking for a quick fix first.

Anthony - I've already said a couple of posts back why I don't want to delete and duplicate.

Cheers and more tomorrow,

gubar

EDIT:

Just had a chance to try it out on a sphere, and it doesn't work. It does move them, to a (very rough) approximation of the others, but it's certainly not exactly mirroring them.

weird. I just done a clean install a week or two ago too.

Last edited by gubar : 11-12-2007 at 05:21 AM.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.