Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-12-2007, 11:45 AM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default River making ?

Any one know a good technique how i can make a realistic river to flow slowly ? I want some good effect ... i know i must use dynamics .. but don't know where to start ? i search in google but nothing find ... :zzz:
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 07:54 PM   #2
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

without spending out money, im a bit useless as i am using realflow as a plugin, if you can afford one like a student one its a godsend (obviously) for things like this!

However, other than realflow i dont know. I did though, find this post on another forum. Posted by someone called Olcho.

he said:

'For the river itself I believe you could use a texture - usually an animated bump and/or displacement (sometimes you don't even need displacement) will do the trick. If you want to make foam, then the textures will be more complex, but that's the way I woud go.

Now for the integration of floating objects there's a very cool trick, using Fluids. Make a 2D fluid container with the Y size big enough to cover all the river and the riverbed, remove everything but the velocity. Paint some velocity to mimic the river flow direction. If you want to add some logs to float in the river, make them rigid bodies and connect them to the fluid force. If you have rocks in the river, you can make them collision objects with the fluids and the velocity will work its way around the rocks. If you want the logs and rocks to "emit" foam while they are in the river, you can make a 2D fluid texture and connect it to the river's color, bump and may be incandescence - you can pretty much experiment with all that stuff.
There's actually a very good video tutorial I think from Gnomon that describes all that - very cool stuff'


Hope this helps sorry
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 09:48 PM   #3
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Ok i have realflow i don't spend money .. don't ask me how i get it ... so can you be more specific of making river ? With realflow : ):blush:
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 10:21 PM   #4
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok what version of realflow have you got?
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 04:28 AM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

RealFlow 4 i saw in the folder there are smth like plugins for Maya ,3Dsmax etc .. :zzz:
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 07:29 AM   #6
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

have you got the full version? You will need to install mesh plugins and particle plugins first then il give u a walkthrough ...(or try my best) lol
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 09:32 AM   #7
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

That's what i have
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 09:35 AM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

And realflow
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 11:40 AM   #9
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok dude.

Well assuming your plugins are loaded, il begin. Im just simulating the last bit now, so i can show you. I dont a kinda step by step guide for you with screens shots.

Its not that hard when you get the hang of it. It should be ready very soon, like an hour
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #10
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i meant to say, im DOING*** a step by step lol
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 03:42 PM   #11
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Im assuming you have your mesh ready from Maya.

Ok, first you export your mesh. I.e your ground and what ever else is coming in contact with the water. Make sure everything is triangulated and the history is cleared, the pivots are centred, and freeze transformations.

2) File > Export all > export as SD file

3) Open Realflow. Click on this button and import your SD Scene.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 03:52 PM   #12
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Now you need to create a circle emitter
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 03:54 PM   #13
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

position it as follows using the move and rotate tool top left.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 03:56 PM   #14
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

with the circle emitter still selected, copy these values on the right
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2007, 03:59 PM   #15
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

now select the mesh and copy these values...BY THE WAY>...these values are based on something thats relitively the same size, do not copy exactly, i trust you can play around and creating some stunning results...anyway............
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.