Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-12-2007, 11:07 PM   #1
djb123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Adding Audio

Hi all,

I'm trying to add audio to an animation, it is the right format and it seems to import fine, and even works in the playblast, but when I render to an AVI theres no sound, any ideas?

Thanks
Dave
djb123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2007, 11:32 PM   #2
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'm not that experienced with movie editing but I would probably add sound in a extern program like after effects. And Mayas AVI files are not perfect, make it into images like TGA for example then use another program to make the movie, I find it easier to control the fps this way to.

And welcome to Simplymaya.
Weyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 07:21 AM   #3
Altadena
Registered User
 
Altadena's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

export the movie with no sound as an AVI and add the sound in a program like After effects or Adobe Premiere along with the video
Altadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 09:54 AM   #4
djb123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies guys,

but am i alone in thinking its totally lame to have to add audio in an external program after forking out so much for Maya? There must be something I'm missing. I mean lip synching is going to be a nightmare.

Dave
djb123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 11:45 AM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

dont go with avi, its crap.

Batch render your your animation as targa files.

Then use videomach (very easy to use) to turn those targa files into either an avi or mpeg.

mike mckinley has a great tutorial on rendering, thats how i learnt.

http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=49


As for the sound. (Assuming its all synched with what you need in maya).

You dont even need a complicated program like After Effects (unless of course you're good with AE). Just download any program. I have Ulead video editor AND after effects, and i STILL use Ulead if its just for sound,...purely because its so quick and simple.

So here you are...

step 1) Follow the great mike mckinleys tutorial
http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=49

step 2) Use video mach, import your Targa files. (like i said very easy...follow Mike). When completed you will have a smooth video in either avi or mpeg.

Step 3) With ULead or any video editing program,..import both your sound AND your newly rendered video into it, and create a video file or render it out in that program or do whatever it requires to output the final version (vid and sound)

hope this helps

__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 12:03 PM   #6
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Im a little confused as to what you mean after readin your last post.

Heres what you do, very easy. You have your sound yes?
You can do this 2 ways.

Import it in the timeline or use the trax editor. i prefer the trax editor as u can move it accordingly.

Let me know exactly what you want to do, and i will explain in more detail, if not, some1 will


good luck

__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:27 PM   #7
djb123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi all I may be missing something very obvious but when i import sound to the timeline i can see the waveform but theres no sound when i playback, ive tried rendering it to an avi and playblasting it, but theres nothing there, its wav format so it should work any ideas?

P.S. I'm not ignoring the above advice but the reason i want to import the audio to maya is because I need to lip synch and it will be 100 times easier doing it in the program.
djb123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.