Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-01-2008, 06:53 PM   #1
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default Something I found funny

I was looking through the Maxwell Render manual a while ago and at the start it has the install instructions. Just a quick look made me smirk.

installation:

Windows:
Run the installation file (maxwell.exe) and follow the installation procedure. The Maxwell
executable files will be added to the system path. A user environment variable named
Maxwell_RooT pointing to the installation folder will be added. if this variable doesn’t exist
or is not created properly, the application will fail.

Mac os x:
Unstuff the installation package and drag & drop the contents into the applications folder.

linux:
installing tar.gz. Copy maxwell64-1.6.linux64.tar.gz to /opt and uncompress and untar the package.
Type both gzip -d maxwell64-1.6.linux64.tar.gz and tar xvf maxwell64-1.6.linux64.tar
Create a user environment variable named Maxwell_RooT that points to the Maxwell
installation folder. depending on your shell, the procedure may differ slightly. for example, in
Bash shell use:
export MAXWELL_ROOT=”/opt/maxwell64”
export PATH=”/opt/maxwell64/:$PATH”
in csh shell:
setenv MAXWELL_ROOT ”/opt/maxwell64”
setenv PATH ”/opt/maxwell64:$PATH”
Which looks more appealing?
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 07:01 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

windows, click on the .exe and you are done .
Mac is no different to pc except more expensive.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 11:35 PM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

i have to agree to JSprogg
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 11:43 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
windows, click on the .exe and you are done .
A Windows automatic installer?! So innovative! The part I love the most is at the end where it says it will fail. :lmao:
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 12:19 AM   #5
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

it says it will fail if for some reason the application malfunctions. it doesn't say it WILL fail.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 04:03 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Agreed John,

If you want to have a laugh have a look at motionbuilders MAC controls its like mouse click + apple + alt + F to move the camera, inovation!!! It must be good practice if your a piano player.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 06:47 AM   #7
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The Linux one looks appealing... typing arcane commands into bash makes me feel like I'm searching the garbage file of a Gibson (obscure movie reference)
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 08:16 AM   #8
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Agreed John,

If you want to have a laugh have a look at motionbuilders MAC controls its like mouse click + apple + alt + F to move the camera, inovation!!! It must be good practice if your a piano player.
And that would be Apple's fault?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 08:57 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Jr.Who
And that would be Apple's fault?
Due to the inovation of the single button mouse, bit of a pain if your using a laptop!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 09:38 AM   #10
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Also I am not over fond of the command key, why can't they just use Ctrl like a normal OS?
Or is it just a self promotion gimmick I wonder.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 10:17 AM   #11
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When I build my own brand of incompatible computer, I shall rename the control key to the overlord key

I for one bow before our new overlords! :bow:

The graphic on the key shall resember the user bowing before the machine overlord...
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 10:18 AM   #12
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When I build my own brand of incompatible computer, I shall rename the control key to the overlord key

I for one bow before our new overlords! :bow:

The graphic on the key shall be a stylish minimalist representation of the user bowing before the machine overlord...
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2008, 11:28 AM   #13
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
Also I am not over fond of the command key, why can't they just use Ctrl like a normal OS?
Or is it just a self promotion gimmick I wonder.
It's pretty much the equivalent of the control key on a PC, yet we have both the command and control keys. Command is usually what you would use to execute a command (shortcut) and control is used for a couple other things, one of them being the ability to right-click by holding control and left clicking.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2008, 02:29 PM   #14
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

just saw the hackers reference... i just watched that movie yesterday after work!

HACK THE PLANET!!
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2008, 02:36 PM   #15
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HACK THE PLANET!!


Too bad I lost the Hackers tape a while back... must get DVD one day!
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.