Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-01-2008, 06:56 AM   #1
DjSneeze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problem with non-main-fold

I posted here since it's not a technical issue ...

I make a hand after a reference image, extruded the middle finger and after that converted back to poly from subd and duplicated the hand in order to duplicate the finger ...

Well I got the other finger, reshaped it and poly combined it with the hand ... but every time I merge the verts I get non main fold ... every single time ...

I double checked, no double verts or edges or anything ... I tried with border edges on and even I merge all the vers the border edge is still there ... it's not disappearing.
Note: geometry fits perfectly ...

any idea what this could be ?
DjSneeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 07:03 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

IT could be if youve extruded and not moved then hit extrude again??

Not seeing the model I cant really tell.

You could try a cleanup before you merge
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2008, 08:07 AM   #3
DjSneeze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well I would like to clean up only with what settings ?
When I clean up, it cuts off all my edges/verts, splits them appart ... shloud I just reset the tool and clean up with standard options ?


EDIT: DONE ! WORKED AFTER MERGING AND CLEANING NON-MAIN-FOILD ! THANKS FOR READING THIS AND SORY FOR BEING RETARDED AND NOT CHECKING TWICE !

THANKS !

Last edited by DjSneeze : 17-01-2008 at 08:17 AM.
DjSneeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.